2018 – 2019 Season BNH Awards

  • June 24, 2019

The feminine contribution to North Harbour bowls was in the spotlight when the centre’s annual prize giving was held at the Milford club at the weekend.

Mairangi Bay’s Jean Ashby received a lifetime achievement award, Orewa’s Maureen Taylor won the President’s Cup and Orewa’s Wendy Jensen won the supreme bowler of the year award.

Ashby has long been one of the centre’s and indeed New Zealand’s top umpires. An expert on the game’s playing laws, she has umpired at several nationals, Commonwealth Games and world championships. She is one of Bowls New Zealand’s three life members.

Taylor’s award was for her contributions in many roles, especially on the match committee.

Jensen has had an outstanding playing record in the past season, winning many centre titles and gaining a gold star. And at the weekend she marked her return to the Black Jacks by being in the winning four at the Asia Pacific Games in Australia which won a gold medal.

Another who has had a vintage season with a host of centre titles, former Black Jack Tony Grantham (Browns Bay) won the male bowler of the year title. Grantham recently gained his 20th centre title to win a third bar to his gold star.

Other playing awards went to Sean Mulholland (Browns Bay), one to five-year men’s, Teresa Rogers (Mairangi Bay), one to five-year women’s and Milika Nathan (Birkenhead), young bowler of the year.

Special award winners were volunteer, Stuart Miller (Takapuna), administrator, Terry Moverley (Birkenhead), coach, Graham Dorreen (Takapuna), umpire, Sue Rossiter (Takapuna), official, Norma Klaassen (Manly), club, Orewa.

The following link is to the awards booklet for the 2018 – 2019 BNH awards presented on Sunday 23 June 2019.

Awards Booklet MC 2019 Post