Results – Executive Fours – Sunday 10th September 2023 – by Lindsay Knight.

  • September 11, 2023

Bowls North Harbour’s 2023-24 season was launched with a pleasant Executive fours tournament at the weekend on the Hobsonville club’s new carpet green.

Birkenhead, one of the centre’s most consistent clubs over many years, won the tournament skipped by one of its evergreen players, Lionel Drew.  Lead Barry Reyland, two John Croy and three Vaughan Henderson helped Lionel to win all three of their 10-end matches, with the collection of bonus points from the front two proving crucial.

Milford finished second and host club Hobsonville added to its winning the club of the year title for the 2022-23 season by finishing third.  It was an excellent effort by Milford, skipped by eighth year player Jill Wallace, who had in front of her three bowlers just starting their third season, John Mulka, Stacey McDonald and Hamish Wilkinson.

Fourteen teams, including one from the umpires association, entered the tournament which was run in exemplary manner by centre board member, Garth Partridge.

Sue Rossiter took the opportunity to present Murray West with his level 2 umpires qualification.  Congratulations Murray.