Results – Cadness Cup – March 2023

  • March 27, 2023

 Birkenhead and Takapuna were respective winners of the Cadness Cup competitions which concluded on March 24.

 Birkenhead, skipped by Gary Wallace, with John Janssen at three and David Eades and Barry Reyland up front, won the men’s version in a play-off between the two sections.

 The  Birkenhead Hornets won that after an extra end against Browns Bay Bolters, with Manly Lions and Beach Haven Badgers the defeated semi-finalists.

 It was the second consecutive season Birkenhead had won the competition, repeating the 2022 triumph when Lionel Drew, who was unavailable for the final rounds this year, was skip.

 Takapuna’s Megan Ratcliffe, who was skip, Judi Farkash, three, and Jan Calcott and Emily Jim, who were in the crucial two and lead positions, won the women’s round-robin.

  Takapuna Forsyth Barr beat Mairangi Bay Dolphins 24-17 and became assured of the title when Mahurangi East slumped to a big loss to Manly. The only team to have beaten Takapuna in the round-robin, Mahurangi had also entered the final day with a chance of winning the competition.

 But its loss meant it was pipped by Manly for even the runner-up spot.

 For Ratcliffe winning the competition was consolation for having been the runner-up when skip of another Takapuna combination in 2022.

 Jim and her sister Tiare have joined Takapuna recently form Rarotonga to prepare for April’s Oceania tournament in Auckland.