Champ of Champ Triples – Round-Up by Lindsay Knight

  • May 9, 2022

Helensville’s Bart Robertson continued his form purple patch by collecting his third Centre title in consecutive weeks when he was part of the winning team in the champion of champion of champion men’s triples at the weekend.

 In Sunday’s final at Orewa Robertson and his club-mates, Ricky Howe and Kylie Clark, had a comfortable 23-6 win over Northcote’s Shaun Bayne, David Pierce and Tom Edwards.

 That gave Robertson another success to add to his win in the champion of champion singles a fortnight ago and in the champion of champion pairs last weekend with Howe.

 It also put him in prime position to be again acclaimed the Centre’s bowler of the year. He now has 13 Centre titles, having won the open championship singles earlier in the season to secure a bar to his gold star.

 For Howe it was his fourth Centre title and for Clark his second.

 Helensville’s pairs win was also against Northcote, with Pierce, essentially a part-time bowler because of his busy working life as a television camera-man, in his second consecutive final.

 To make the final Northcote caused a big upset by pipping Birkenhead’s Nigel Drew, Marty Short and Mark Rumble 14-13 in one of the semi-finals. Helensville won its semi-final over Beach Haven’s Roy Parker, Steve Doolan and Daymon Pierson 25-11, with Beach Haven having earlier ousted Riverhead’s formidable Steve Cox, Duane McDonald and Lindsay Gilmore 18-9.

 The women’s final on Sunday was a much tighter contest with Orewa’s Christeen Dalzell, Maureen Howden and Jan Harrison needing an extra end to beat Manly’s Fay Baverstock, Roz Kyle and Elaine Ferguson 18-15, after the scores had been tied at the end of the 15th at 15-all.

 Dalzell now has seven Centre titles, Howden two and Harrison three.

 Orewa made the final with a 20-10 win over Mairangi Bay’s Gaye Horne, Theresa Rogers and Joy Watkinson, powering away over the final few ends after what had been an even contest.

 Manly secured an impressive second round win over Birkenhead’s Kirsty Hill,

 Ruth Lynch and Bev Rolfe, who in the first round had won a thrilling, come-from -behind win over Takapuna’s Wendy Jensen, Trish Hardy and Jan Calcott.

 Takapuna on its home carpet appeared to have the match won with a 15-9 lead with three ends left. But they then dropped seven shots to be edged out 16-15.