• March 19, 2019

Hosts named for 2020 Summerset Nationals

Bowls Canterbury and Bowls Bay of Plenty will host next year’s Summerset Nationals.

The Summerset National Singles and Pairs will be staged in Christchurch from January 2-8, 2020, while Bay of Plenty will the base for the Summerset National Fours from February 27- March 2, 2020.

The tournaments have been split across the North and South Islands after they were held in Auckland and Wellington this year.

Bowls New Zealand has also announced the 2020 National Intercentre tournament will be hosted by Bowls Wellington from March 19-22.

This year’s National Intercentre event is being staged in Auckland next week, following the revamped North vs South fixture.

The 2020 North vs South feature is also likely to precede the National Intercentre.

Bowls New Zealand thanks all centres that expressed an interest in hosting one of its three major national events in 2020.

Venues and dates for other significant Summer of Bowls events will be announced in due course.

2019/2020 National events:

North vs South 2019 – Auckland Bowls 21 March 
National Intercentre 2019 – 22-24 March 
Bowls3Five Final 2019 – 28 April 
Champion of Champions 2019
Men’s and Women’s Singles: Naenae Bowling Club – July 5-7
Men’s and Women’s Pairs: Dunedin Lawn Bowls Stadium – July 12 to 14
Men’s Fours: Bowls Hastings complex in Hawkes Bay – July 26-28
Women’s Fours: Frankton Railway Bowling Club – July 19 to 21
Summerset National Singles & Pairs 2020 – Bowls Canterbury, January 2-8
Summerset National Fours  2020 – Bowls Bay of Plenty, February 27-March 2
National Intercentre 2020 – Bowls Wellington, March 19-22