BNH Cadness Cup – Results Report

  • March 23, 2024

  Mairangi Bay added to an already vintage season by winning both the men’s and women’s Cadness Cup competitions on Friday.

  At Manly Mairangi Bay won the women’s title by finishing unbeaten in the four-team round-robin from the second placed Manly Marvels.

 The winning team was Sheryl Wellington, Elaine McClintock, Jan Gledhill and Theresa Rogers, the latter a replacement for the indisposed Kerin Roberts. All these players have been prominent in the club’s earlier triumphs this season and early next month will form the core of the team seeking the national inter-club sevens title.

 By winning each of their first and second round matches against respectively Manly’s second team and Takapuna, Mairangi Bay and Manly Marvels met in the third round in what became a final.

 Mairangi Bay just edged Faye Baverstock, Helen Briant, Elaine Ferguson and Kathy Stevens 20-18.

  At Milford in the men’s post-section knock-out rounds, the Mairangi Bay Sharks team, Ian Coombe, Kevin Cameron, Gordon Jenkins and Allan Langley won the final by a convincing 27-12 over the John Hindmarch-skipped Birkenhead Bees team of Mike Turner, Evan Thomas and Keith Burgess.
 In so doing Mairangi Bay foiled what would have been a hat-trick of Birkenhead wins in this event, its teams having won in 2022 and 2023.

 In the semi-finals the Bees beat Mahurangi East 33-16 and Mairangi Bay had a gritty win over the promising Wayne Harris-skipped Orewa four 26-21.

 It was still a competition to remember for Birkenhead, though. There was an epic quarter-final clash between the Bees and their club-mates, the Lionel Drew-skipped Wasps, which resulted in a 26-25 win for the Bees.

 After the regulation 12 ends the scores were tied and it took another three extra ends before the stalemate was broken. Amazingly the first two extra ends were also squared with the team gaining the bonus points from the leads and twos having them off-set by the other winning the game points.